Confession: I’m a FitFlop Fanatic

But I’m probably not alone….

I’ve just come to the realization that I spend 99.9% of my time wearing these $60+ “flip flops” on a daily, year-round basis.   If you haven’t heard of FitFlops, they are high-end flip flops with style.  I wouldn’t even classify them as flip flops because they don’t “flop” around at all.  They are pure heaven for my feet and they are becoming more fashion forward with every season.  I’m now proud owner of at least 14 pairs of FitFlops.  Luckily my husband has no clue how expensive these things are.  Thanks to Zappos, I can get my latest FitFlop must-have in less than 24 hours after ordering.  It still amazes me how they do that.   Why can’t all online companies be like that?

 Why Do I LOVE FitFlops, Let Me Count the Ways

Firstly, they are the MOST comfortable shoes/sandals I have ever worn in my entire life.  I can walk all day in these (and I do).  They have been around the world with me on our summer vacations, running errands, hanging out around the house, going to outings around town,  music festivals, doing kids activities, etc., etc.   Any place where walking is involved, I wear my FitFlops.  Unless there is snow on the ground, I’m in my FitFlops outside.  For cold weather, I wear UGG boots (I also have a collection of those).   You can pretty much count on me wearing FitFlops every single minute of the day and night unless I have to get “really” dressed up.

Secondly, they are so well-made.  I have my original pair from 5 years ago.  I have never had to break them in or gotten any blisters or calluses from them.  They are ideal for people with foot problems or people who stand on their feet all day long.  I don’t have any problems with my feet but I do love comfort.  I’ll break out the high heels for special occasions, but first thing when I get home, is find my FitFlops to put on.   It’s like my feet’s best friend, all cozy and comforting.  They conform to your feet.  The special 1-1/4 inch wobble board platform is key to its support and comfort.  Plus, it’s nice to have a little height, since I’m so short.  This cushy platform sole also supposedly gives your legs a workout, but I can’t attest to any calf building or strengthening.  To me, their best selling point is the all day comfort and styling.  They are very lightweight too.  Easy to pack multiple pairs when traveling.

Thirdly, they are so darn cute and stylish!   When they first came out, they were admittedly very utilitarian and blah looking.  But go to their website (http://www.fitflop.com/) and you will see how far they have come since their original model called the Walkstar.  One hint on sizing:  They don’t come in half sizes and tend to run big.  I normally wear 7-1/2 or 8, but order FitFlops in 7 and they are perfect.

 My Favorite FitFlop Style of All Time

FitFlop styles can be quite diverse; and they are not your typical flip flop styles.  You can go from everyday simplicity, to quite chic styles, to some pretty bizarre looking ones.  But I must say I have a special affinity for the Pietra style, it’s classic and simple.  Read all the 5 star reviews and watch a video about it here:

http://www.zappos.com/fitflop-pietra-patent-bronze-patent

I can go from day to night in these and wear them with just about anything. . .  shorts, jeans, slacks, dresses, skirts.  In fact, I have all 3 colors of this style (black, silver, and bronze).  But I think the next love of my life will be the Arena (the one pictured on top) which just came out this year.  I think I better start saving those coins and dollar bills that fall out in the dryer machine….

Leave a Reply

